The Spotlight: Anthony Mackie talks MCU future, wanting to play James Bond and why 'superheros have been the death of movie stars' 

The Spotlight: Anthony Mackie talks MCU future, wanting to play James Bond and why 'superheros have been the death of movie stars' 

Anthony Mackie isn't impressed with the current state of filmmaking. He's also part of the problem.

The veteran actor plays the Avenger "Falcon" in Marvel's Cinematic Universe and says massive franchises like "The Avengers" his have completely changed the landscape.

"The evolution of the superhero has meant the death or the movie star," Mackie told attendees to his panel at The MCM London Comic Con. "That's the fear now because you're now making movies for 16 year-olds and China. That's it. You think of some of your favorite movies growing up, those movies wouldn't get made today."

"It's just a different time now. They make movies for specific audiences as opposed to just making good movies. That's why people stopped going to the movies because most of the movies suck."

Asked about the future of his character in the MCU, Mackie admits he's as clueless as the rest of us.

"I don't know," said Mackie. "The MCU is a weird universe because we don't know anything until we shoot it. We're in the middle of "Avengers 4" and I still don't know what's happening. Because we get the pages we're shooting that day and nothing else about the movie. So we'll see."

As franchises go, Mackie joked that he'd love a chance to reinvent British super spy "James Bond."

"My James Bond would be cool," said Mackie. "I mean milky. Smooth. Smooth. No nonsense. No pretense. Know what I mean? Straight up on the hip all day. Black on black on black. Down low. 20 inch rims. Aston. Six by nines pumping. 808 in the trunk. Drop top. 

"What I just said was my James Bond would be a very, very mellow man with the ladies. He would be very aggressive with his fighting style and his Aston Martin would be a convertible on 20 inch rims with an 808 sound system in the trunk so you can hear him coming. That's my Bond."

(via Red Carpet News TV)


TOP STORIES

80%? "Solo: A Star Wars Story" reportedly massively overhauled.

'Acting is like breathing to me.'  How ‘Stranger Things’ star Millie Bobby Brown made Eleven "iconic" and catapulted Into pop culture.

'I’d be the most hated man in nerd-dom.' Mark Hamill didn’t this Harrison Ford would come back for more "Star Wars" but didn't want to refuse once he did.

He of the 'Chipmunks' fame. Adam Sztykiel to write and direct Dwayne Johnson's "Black Adam" movie for DC.

Page to screen. Elizabeth Banks and Margot Robbie team up for "The Paper Bag Princess." 


MUST WATCH

New trailers ranked by watchability.

Dave as Dave.

Spider-Man gets honest.

Taika gets tipsy.

Some remakes are actually better.

Eleven raps a season one recap.

Origins of sound in film.

Ellen is ruthless.



AND THE REST

Even more Halloween.

Happy Halloween!!!! 🖤🎃🕷💀🦇👻

A post shared by Heidi Klum (@heidiklum) on

#halloweencostume #halloween Would you like a hair cut!

A post shared by xoxo, Gaga (@ladygaga) on

Happy Halloween Boos! 💀🎃👻

A post shared by Miley Cyrus (@mileycyrus) on

codename California Mountain Snake 💉 #elle

A post shared by Elle Fanning (@ellefanning) on

Willie & Waylon #Halloween2017

A post shared by Jessica Simpson (@jessicasimpson) on

Like clockwork 👅

A post shared by Juno Temple (@junotemple) on

Happy Halloween 👻 from one wetch to another 🔮🖤🎃

A post shared by Emma Roberts (@emmaroberts) on

All geared up and ready for action. Plus I may go hit on that Buzz... #happyhalloween

A post shared by Jessica Biel (@jessicabiel) on

When Spider Witch becomes Spider B*tch at midnight 🕷🔮

A post shared by Halle Berry (@halleberry) on

Really makes my eyes pop. #HappyHalloween

A post shared by Robert Downey Jr. (@robertdowneyjr) on

I survived #Halloween

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

#AboutLastNight 🎃🎃🎃

A post shared by Billy Eichner (@billyeichner) on

Baby Dwights! #happyhalloween

A post shared by Jenna Fischer (@msjennafischer) on

Party on Wayne. Party on Garth. 🎸 🥁 🎃 #werenotworthy

A post shared by Skylar Astin (@skylarastin) on

You win.

Gross.

Yeti.

Yeti!!!

A post shared by Jack Black (@jackblack) on




Have something you want in The Spotlight? Hit us up on Twitter @DisorderlyEnt.

The Highlight: Jimmy Garoppolo and 49ers hope he's the QB of the future, 'We studied him hard'

The Highlight: Jimmy Garoppolo and 49ers hope he's the QB of the future, 'We studied him hard'

Praise, forgiveness and making sense of 'Stranger Things' season two

Praise, forgiveness and making sense of 'Stranger Things' season two